What's the best washable diaper?

Amzz92

Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
I'm looking for a good washable diaper to try. I'm new to diaper wearing and don't really want to spend money on disposables. I live in the U.K.

My favourite cloth nappy was purchased from CosyNDry.
As they’re no cloth squares, Nanny Margaret will make them to your size.
Fluffy and thick

• Love
Reactions: littledub1955
Kinda depends on a number of factors from how much time you have and how much you're willing to put into them (time, money, learning etc.) to what your wearing habits are and what kinda style your prefer.

I know a lot of the cloth users on here love a prefold or flat including me, but they are a pain with pinning on and learning to fold.

I personally don't like pockets, they don't have enough capacity for me and don't tend to work well in certain positions (like lying down), but they are much more discreet than other types and can be very quick and easy to change, they also take up less space since they use pads rather than a full wrap around nappy.

AIO's seem like a great idea and most "disposable" like but when the waterproof outer fails (and it will, it doesn't last forever) you have to replace the whole thing (expensive).

For me I personally say a fitted style is the best option, it goes on and fits much like a disposable, covers the whole area, including around the sides of the hips, with absorbency (great for side sleepers), is easily boosted with extra pads, can use any plastic pants/wrap you like for waterproofing which means the same nappy can have a plain coloured or printed PP/cover depending on mood and are generally very comfy. Downsides are not so discreet, obvious on a line when drying often a bit more expensive than flats/prefolds/pockets and often made with less than ideal materials (mostly microfibre and fleeces).